A Tribute to My Dad

 

Our fathers disciplined us for a little while as they thought best; but God disciplines us for our good, that we may share in His holiness (Heb 12:10).

I usually don’t write syrupy things, but as Fathers’ Day approaches, I am feeling a bit nostalgic and missing my dad. This year he would be 100 years old. As my mother, who had been known to have blonde moments once said, “If he was alive, he would probably be dead by now.” The scary part is that I understood what she was saying!

Dad loved kids. He really enjoyed doing things for his children and grandchildren. One of his favorite lines to mom was, “We don’t need a new___, save the money for the kids.” And he loved surprising the grandkids with candy credit when they went to the corner drug store.

I really wish he could have known his great grandchildren. The two oldest are thoughtful and kind, the middle two are so personable, and the youngest two are smile magnets.

I love this verse, because as I was growing up, I always negatively compared my parents to others. But as a parent, I know that all I did (and continue to do as a parent of adult children) was what I thought best.

Each day I am grateful that I have the word of the Heavenly Father to look to for guidance, and that I had the example of an earthly father who always did what he thought was best for us.

Leave a Reply

