A Light for My Path

Your word is a lamp for my feet; a light for my path (Ps 119:105).

I really didn’t think I’d be writing about this verse, the words of a kindergarten Sunday school song (although every word of God’s word is alive and powerful). But recently someone said to me that their sense of morality was different than that of a believer. This made my head spin. Every universally good quality (honesty, kindness, patience…) is noted and promoted in God’s word.

What about the traits or behaviors that contradict the word? How does an non-believer decide which of those are “moral” when they change day to day, person to person, situation to situation?

A place with a fluid morality is a dark place for sure. We are seeing some of the results of that today. My heart aches for children who are growing up without the security of the absolutes, shared by the Creator, on which to anchor themselves.

If we embrace the truths of God’s word, we may slip from the path from time to time, but we do have the confidence that comes from knowing where to find it.

Leave a Reply

