Life Eternal

The gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord (Romans 6:23b)

I was fortunate to have been raised in a church that recognized Jesus Christ. I used to feel that those years were spiritually wasted because I never learned about the saving grace, nor how to have a personal relationship with Him. But although I didn’t “know” Him at that time, I was learning “about” Him.

Now I am much more privileged to have a personal, exclusive, just-the-two-of-us relationship. We communicate each and every time I choose. And whenever I choose not to listen to His voice, He waits patiently, guiding (or nudging) me to the best paths.

Those years certainly were not wasted. After all, isn’t that how all good relationships begin—getting to know “about” the other person and learning about ourselves through them as well.

And, by far, the best part about our relationship is that it is the never-ever-ending story.

2 thoughts on “Life Eternal”

  1. I have no recollection of ever not knowing about God, and His son Jesus. I remember saying prayers as far back as I can remember, and also learning about him in church and school.
    I am grateful for never remembering a time of not knowing there is a God. I did at one time feel like I had missed something though, and from time to time question whether my conversion was real because I never felt the drastic change of going from an atheist or non believer to a saved believer. Sometimes I use to think that the subtleness of my conversion may have been a hiderance in doing God’s work.
    I do look at things much differently now. I have no doubts about my faith and it wasn’t as subtle as I thought. What I do feel is a sadness for the people of that denomination that are dedicated to a religion that misleads them and keeps them from that personal relation with my lord and Savior, Jesus the Christ. I praise God that some of us come out of that teaching an still find the truth. I now know that those childhood teachings layed a good foundation for the truth to be built on, But I think it’s a dangerous way to get there though.

    Like

  2. God uses each of the experiences from which we came, and where we are now, to guide us to the special work(s) that He has for each of us. Although we have free will, He can use all our choices (and experiences). That is such a comforting thought.

    Like

Leave a Reply

