He is Faithful

 

I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me. Philippians‬ ‭4:13‬

The following was written by my daughter, Kayte, upon completion of her first marathon. She has clung to this verse many times in her life and her Lord has always been faithful:

“How did it go?” You ask….

On the morning of the race, in a cold shuttle bus in the dark, the runner next to me said “This is the worst idea I’ve ever had.” We both laughed, but deep down knew we kind of weren’t kidding. I knew he also hadn’t slept all week, had put in 100s of miles of training, was wondering if breakfast would stay down, and kind of just wanted to go home. The anticipation of covering an entire city using nothing but your sneakers and heart requires more courage than one typically has at 4am on a Sunday and a heavy dose of insanity (no seriously, this is for crazy people). Friends and family, hear this loud and clear: I could have NEVER done this without your encouragement, support, gifts, PRAYERS, and Thank you to friends who came out to cheer in the cold and wind – YOU are the rock stars! Thank you to my brother and sis-in-law for experiencing this right by side and to my amazing husband – 2 words: Team. Flynt.

What I will remember the most about the race is the dreaded last 6 miles. Imagine running for 4 hours and then someone punches you in the face. It’s kind of like that! This quote absolutely nails it:

“At mile 20, I thought I was dead. At mile 22, I wished I was dead. At mile 24, I knew I was dead. At mile 26.2, I realized I had become too tough to kill.”~ Anonymous

To anyone still reading this, you ARE too tough to kill. Set a goal, a big one, and watch what you can do.

Finish time was 4:45…it was kind of unclear where the exact finish line was so I asked an official, with tears in my eyes, “Is it over?” This huge man…and he grabs my hand and says “Honey, it’s over.” And you think about all the mornings, cold runs, sacrifices, vegetables, and pain it took to hear those words…..I am speechless & humbled. “Honey, it’s over.” And now…

We celebrate!!!!!

Sent from my iPad

2 thoughts on “He is Faithful”

Leave a Reply

